Mt. Trashmore coming to Eastern NC

You won't see people lining up to climb this mess:

Ever since plans for the giant landfills were announced years ago, the suspicion has been that they would be used to hold trash generated in other states and shipped here. There’s plenty of cheap land in some of North Carolina’s easternmost counties, communities where the population is low income. Those counties have high water tables, so most of the trash would be “buried” above ground, thus creating the Great Trash Mountain Range, maybe adjacent to state parks.

There's no maybe about it. This critical wildlife refuge will likely be the first to suffer from this exceptionally bad public policy move:

The Great Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge is the largest intact remnant of a vast habitat that once covered more than one million acres of southeastern Virginia and northeastern North Carolina. Formal protection of this resource began in 1973, when the Union Camp Corporation (a local forest products company) donated 49,097acres to The Nature Conservancy. The Nature Conservancy conveyed the donated land to the federal government, which, combined with additionally purchased land, was used to establish the Great Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge in 1974.

The Dismal Swamp Act of 1974 directs the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to: “Manage the area for the primary purpose of protecting and preserving a unique and outstanding ecosystem, as well as protecting and perpetuating the diversity of animal and plant life therein. Management of the refuge will be directed to stabilize conditions in as wild a character as possible, consistent with achieving the refuge’s stated objectives.”

With a secondary purpose to: “Promote a public use program when not in conflict with the primary objectives of the refuge.”

By "public use" they meant recreational purposes, not allowing private companies to ship in millions of pounds of trash from all over the region. And it's not just critters and plants who could suffer from this:

I understand some municipalities have been struggling to figure out how to (efficiently) dispose of their solid wastes. But you don't go from that to becoming a dumping ground for the entire Southeast, and you damned sure don't locate these festering sites in areas where leaks could migrate into drinking wells and sensitive wetlands.

Comments

Disgusting

It is vile and disgusting that these people, time and again, are working to thoroughly destroy this state's environment so that a few people can make more money.

Instead of the beautiful state that attracts millions of new residents and tourists, they're putting North Carolina on a path to becoming one big toxic dump.

And no one's gonna want to move or visit here.

But the waste industry moguls and frackers will have enough money to retire to some place nice.

Question: Can we build a dump 1,500 feet from Art Pope's house now? How about next to the NCGA?

-------------------------------------------------------
"What I see from the folks who are opposing our agenda is whining coming from losers." -- Thom Tillis

We stopped the OLF

and we will stop this abomination too.

Contact House Committee on Environment re: landfill bill

Today (6/26) The landfill passed first reading in the House. The bill is in the House Committee on Environment, scheduled for a meeting tomorrow, Thursday, at 10:00 am. If favorable, it goes to the House Finance Committee, which will meet next week. Many House Members know very little about this bill and it's history. It has come up so quickly, and at such a busy time. Newer Representatives, especially, are not likely to understand the background, and the harm that it would cause. They will see that DENR signed off on it, (amazing ... discussion for another time), and assume that it is OK to move boundaries from five to two miles, to fifteen hundred feet from parks, wildlife refuges, bodies of water, etc., etc.

Getting information to the House Committee on Environment before their 10:00 AM meeting tomorrow is our best hope of stopping this bill. I have listed email addresses below, which you can cut and paste into your email address line.

Contact information for the House Committee on Environment: http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/Committees/Committees.asp?sAction=ViewCommittee&sActionDetails=House%....
The email addresses for the two Chairmen and four Vice Chairmen:
Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net,Roger.West@ncleg.net,Rick.Catlin@ncleg.net,Mike.Hager@ncleg.net,Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net,Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net

Committee members (in two groups) are:
Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net,Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net,William.Brisson@ncleg.net,Becky.Carney@ncleg.net,Carla.Cunningham@ncleg.net,Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net,Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net,Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net,Pricey.Harrison@ncleg.net

Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net,Frank.Iler@ncleg.net,Verla.Insko@ncleg.net,Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net,Chris.Millis@ncleg.net,Tim.Moore@ncleg.net,Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net,Michael.Stone@ncleg.net,Andy.Wells@ncleg.net,Michael.Wray@ncleg.net